Rimsky-Korsakov – Symphony No. 2
Trinity Orchestra

TCHAIKOVSKY Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture
RACHMANINOV Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
MUSSORGSKY A Night on the Bare Mountain
RIMSKY-KORSAKOV Symphony No. 2, Antar

John Andrews – conductor
Tamila Salimdjanova – piano

Continuing Trinity Orchestra’s association with the Royal College of Music and Jaques Samuel Pianos, the penultimate concert of the 2018-2019 season is an exciting programme of compositions by four giants of Russian music, conducted by John Andrews.

We begin with Tchaikovsky’s famous and powerful Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture – a magical composition in which the composer presents a variety of characters and moods to create a much-loved concert piece.

The orchestra will then be joined by exciting young Uzbec pianist Tamila Salimdjanova for a performance of Rachmaninov’s sublime work, Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini. Tamila made her orchestral debut at the age of nine with the National Symphony Orchestra of Uzbekistan, and recently graduated from London’s prestigious Royal College of Music.

To conclude this concert, we perform the famous Night on the Bare Mountain by Modest Mussorgsky – depicting a mountain-top mass to welcome the Witches’ Sabbath – and the evocative Symphony No. 2 (Antar) by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsokov. Antar was a great warrior of Arabian literature and this colourful work depicts a story of power and revenge, featuring some of the composer’s most imaginative orchestration.